Djerv – Djerv (2011)

1. Madman 
2. The Bowling Pin 
3. Headstone 
4. Gruesome Twosome 
5. Only I Exist 
6. Ladder To The Moon 
7. Abmuse 
8. Blind The Heat 
9. Immortal

Total: 00:37
Label: Indie Recordings, 2011

A fairly new band, Djerv is the result of members from Trelldom, Stonegard and Animal Alpha coming together, and making us aware of them in early 2010. While these bands clearly influence Djerv to some extent, the new hybrid band is still something new and – for lack of a better word – fresh on the scene.

This self-titled debut album is accessible for most who dabble in the rock-and-so-on-genres: Heavy enough for the blackmetallers to get into, and catchy enough for the alternative crowd to stomach. Nor is it a concept album which requires intent listening from start to finish to “get” – and this may be where the strength truly lies: Any one of the in all nine tracks would work as a stand-alone single, and yet they follow each other nicely on the album as one coherent piece.

I, for one, really enjoy this album, and I’m excited to see what the future holds for Djerv. If their follow-up album is as good as this one, we will surely see more of this bands in years to come.

Verdict: 4 / 5.