Strongwater – Black River (2010)

01. Animal Grin
02. Black River
03. Insatiable
04. Skeleton Man
05. Broken Tombstone
06. Old Hat
07. The Feather of a Firebird
08. Torso Worship
09. The Wai (An Apology)
10. Behemoth
11. Perfect Storm
12. The Leader of My Life
13. Head Exits Ass
14. Get in Line

Total: 01:00
Label: None (Unsigned)

Note on the cover image above: The Strongwater band member I follow on twitter was kind enough to get my copy of their CD signed by the band, mostly due to my insisting on paying for it, and also because I bought two copies.

Strongwater formed in 2008, and could be put in any one of several genres due to their varied influences. Oddly enough, though, the two most prominent to my ears – Stonegard and Mastodon – are not listed on their FaceBook Page.

The self-produced, self-distributed album “Black River” from this as-of-yet unsigned (WTF!?) band is fantastic. The production is awesome too, they obviously put a lot of time and effort into it. It’s an interesting and layered sound, it’s progressive (like Mastodon), and at the same time also safely rooted in the ‘classic’ heavy / thrash metal sound we know and love from bands like Metallica and Pantera.

The 60 minutes, 14 track album is perhaps a bit longer than what you’d expect from a debut. Personally, however, I like that – and the album doesn’t feel tedious or “too long” either. It’s a well balanced album; works best played straight through from start to finish.

I recommend this band and album to anyone who’s into rock and metal.
To get your copy, use the mailto-link on their official site:

Verdict: 5 / 5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s